Soporific

( In memory of a friend who was fearless, enjoyed life to the fullest, my support, spoke French like it was a child’s play, armed with an unmatchable sense of humour and wit and a bloody awesome writer!)

I had a listless expression on my face. I was doodling random lines and imagining it to be a great piece of art. He sat next to me and was looking at my ‘art’ with an amused expression. After a moment of silence, he looks at me with wonder and says, “Tune toh M. F.Hussain ko bhi peeche chodh diya.”
I burst out in the loudest laugh ever, only to be reprimanded by my professor. Years later, I sit in the class resisting the soporific air, only to realise that heaven is echoing with his laughter and his comments on my doodles.

RIP Jigar Sheth. You are deeply missed.

Leave a Reply

